The state of Colorado does not require full coverage auto insurance, although it is always recommended for all Centennial drivers who want to stay safe on the road. While full coverage is not required, there are some types of coverage that are required and still others that your independent agent must offer to you according to the state law.
Liability Insurance in Colorado
In the state of Colorado the minimum amount of liability insurance you must have on each vehicle you own is $25,000 per person/$50,000 maximum per accident. This means that with a minimum 25/50 policy like this, one victim may not recover more than $25,000 from an accident, and if, for example, six victims are in one accident that the total paid out to all victims cannot exceed $50,000.
Uninsured and Underinsured Driver Coverage
Uninsured and underinsured driver coverage is not required by the law however state law in Colorado does require that all insurance agents offer it to drivers who are buying a policy. If you have this type of coverage you and your passengers have got coverage in case the driver who caused the accident to happen has got no insurance or not enough insurance.
Medical Payments Insurance Coverage
This kind of insurance is not required by law, but just as with the Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist insurance, your agent must present it as an offer. This insurance is offered in a $5,000 amount.
Collision and Comprehensive Coverage
Both of these insurance types are not required and there are no specific legal guidelines in relation to an agent offering you these coverage types. Collision coverage is the insurance that pays for repairs to your vehicle, or replacement of the car or truck if it’s extremely damaged in an accident on the road. Comprehensive insurance coverage handles the non-accident damages like weather damages (hail storms for example) or if your car is stolen.