A person can start the Graduated Licensing Program in Colorado at the ripe age of only 15-years-old. A written test must be passed and a fee of $14 must be paid. In addition, an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship must be turned in. After these stipulations have been met, a learner's permit will be granted, which is good for up to three years. For those who earn their learner's permit before being at least 16-years-old, a Driver's Ed course must be completed.
While driving with a learner's permit, there has to be at least one adult in the car who is at least 21-years-old and who has a valid driver's license. At no time can a cell phone be used by the driver, whether it be for texting, talking or simply using the phone for some other purpose.
With a learner's permit, the driver can drive any time of day or night as long as a licensed driver is in the vehicle who is at least 21-years-old. However, once an actual driver's license is earned, driving between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. is restricted until the license has been held for at least one year. There are exceptions to this rule. If a parent is with the driver, then driving after midnight is fine. Also, if the purpose of driving after midnight is for work or medical purposes, then it's okay.
It's also important to keep in mind that with a drivers license, no one under the age of 21 can be in the car during the first six months. Regardless of how long a person has had a learners permit or driver's license, car insurance is a necessity. The best way to choose an appropriate insurance policy is by speaking with professional insurance agents.
You need to become knowledgeable about a lot of things when you become a homeowner. You usually need to know about home loans, property taxes, landscaping, basic repairs, utilities and about a dozen other things. One thing that homeowners should definitely be familiar with is homeowners insurance, especially if they live in or near Englewood, CO.
Englewood is twice as likely to have a tornado as the average city in Colorado, according to historical data, and it is slightly more likely to experience an earthquake, as well. Winter storms, thunderstorms, hail, blizzards, floods and wildfires have all occurred in the region, some with relative frequency. Some of these events are covered by a standard home insurance policy and most others could be covered with a special additional policy, so having the right insurance policy can give you a lot of peace of mind in an emergency.
Knowing that you need homeowners insurance, the next challenge is to sort through the available insurance agents to find the right one for you. First off, you’ll want to find a certified home insurance agent. Home insurance agents in Colorado are required to be licensed by state. The license must be renewed every two years and the agent must complete 24 hours of special training during that period to qualify for a license renewal.
As your certified insurance agent in Colorado, we are familiar with the dangers and challenges of home ownership in the state and we can help you to decide on the exact coverage that you need. Even better, you can use our website to compare home insurance quotes online to be sure that you are getting the best possible deal on the exact policy that you want.
We’re all creatures of habit. It’s particularly easy, when the time rolls around to renew your auto insurance, to keep signing that policy (or clicking "agree") year after year. But sometimes change is best for your coverage and your pocketbook.
Some experts recommend shopping around for auto insurance every two years just to see if you can find a better deal. Often you can. These tips will help you figure out whether it’s time to change insurance provider services in Colorado and if so, how to streamline the process.
1. Compare Quotes
Go shopping for insurance like it’s your first time buying a policy. Thankfully, that doesn’t mean taking hours of your time; a few clicks can get you a number of quotes from different insurance companies. That’s one benefit of working with an independent local agent: they work on your side to help find you the best rate, no matter which company it comes from.
2. Talk to Your Agent
Often, hinting at changing insurance providers is enough to give your existing company incentive to offer you a better deal. They want to keep your business, so they might just be willing to give you a steep discount.
3. Be Careful about Coverage Gaps
Switching providers early can leave you with pricey cancellation fees. And if you’re not careful to make sure your start and ending dates line up, you could accidentally end up driving uninsured for a length of time while you wait for the new policy to go into effect. So read the fine print and make sure you check the dates and details of a new policy before you cancel the old one.
As your independent Colorado insurance agent, we work with people every month who are looking for a better deal and better customer service. It can’t hurt to shop around and see what’s available, and when it comes to buying car insurance, you won’t regret taking the time to make a smart choice.